3D Printed Characters

Back in semester 1, which seems like a lifetime ago, I was stuck for what to make. I had been doing a lot of research but did not have much work to show for it. My tutor had told me just to make and the ideas would come, so I found myself in the DJCAD MakeLab. I had enjoyed 3D printing in the previous year so decided to give it another go seeing as they had just bought new, larger 3D printers. I printed my friend Kate’s head in real-size, placed it on my studio wall and dripped shaving foam down it. This work proved quite popular with passers-by and drew people in as much as the shaving foam covered wall itself did, it is also the logo for this website. The 3D print even helped me to become a finalist in the DJCAD artwork competition for the advertisement of the degree show.

LaurenDaillyFineArt

I could not ignore the popularity of this work, but I could develop it to see if it could be a possible contender for my degree show. As drawing people into my space is a big task for me I felt like these 3D prints might just do the trick. I decided to test out how successful the work would look on a foam covered wall rather than a plain one which proved quite popular as well.

IMG_1796

To develop this I 3D scanned the heads of the 3 girls that are in my fashion film and printed these. I hope these prints bring my film to life in my exhibition by immortalising the nostalgic yet futuristic characters and allowing them to fill my ’empty’ space just as they fill the urban void in my film.

IMG_1932

I plan on displaying these 3D prints in among my framed embossings showing the life that lies between the empty land. They will be displayed at the height of the characters and in the order that they first appear in the film.

Leave a Reply

