Editing my Fashion Film

Since shooting my film at the beginning of December, I have been busy researching fashion films on Nick Knights Show Studio to understand the aesthetic I want. I am self-taught on Adobe Premiere Pro but I have really enjoyed learning my way around this software thanks to YouTube. A lot of the ideas for the editing of my film have come from the other work I have been creating and my main concept of urban voids. I wanted this film to have a high fashion edge but to also capture the emptiness of the urban void that is the setting. Using both the images and the videos, I have played around with the contradiction of the gloomy faces of my models, their happy, carefree dancing and their fierce poses to represent both the past and the present. The childlike playing with shaving foam relates to 1 in 5 workers in the mills being under 15 years of age and the innocence they missed out on.

After photographing different urban voids in Dundee, (https://laurendailly12.wordpress.com/2017/01/30/dundee-urban-void-collection/) I played about in Photoshop and gave the images a white-washed look. I felt like this made the images tie in with my other white work while creating an empty, eerie and old-fashioned look. This look ties in with the nostalgic feeling that I want to provoke as I hope that my audience will think about the memories they have of what used to stand on the land of the urban voids. In particular, the jute mills that once stood on the land of my fashion film. I decided to use this same technique in my fashion film and white-washed the videos.

fullsizerender-29

As the setting is the most important aspect of the film, I decided to visit Verdant Works, Dundees’ jute mill museum. I took a camera and an audio recorder and recorded the sounds of the machines and the monologues from women who worked at the mills. I am currently working on adding these sounds into my film. I concentrated on the women’s voices as a I used 3 female models due to women outranking men in the jute mills 3-1. In those days, Dundee was known as She Town as the woman worked hard while the men struggled to find work and stayed home to look after their children. These men were known as kettle boilers. The mill girls had a reputation for being tough, brash and outspoken and were the heads of their families. I hope to capture the struggles the woman faced in the horrible conditions of the mills through the facial expressions of my models and contradict this with fun dancing representing the freedom we have today.

Leave a Reply

