The Final Display

With only a couple of days left of this semester I have reached the final completion of my project. Welcome to my hairy wonderland.

I wanted my space to be both grotesque but intriguing. A disgusting wonderland that makes us stop and question our revulsion as after all, its only hair. Hair is seen as dirty and unpleasant when it is not attached to our bodies but it is also very strong and holds our DNA which is very spectacular. As my display consists of soap molds my plan was to let my audience walk into a space that smells clean but does not look it. If I had a larger space and a lower ceiling I would’ve loved to create a hair curtain that the viewers would have to walk through and interact with to get to my work. This would make them feel repulsed before they have even reached my work.

The right side of my display is the work I created that highlights the amazing side of hair. I have a series of framed hair that look quite photographic. The tension of the hair being pulled creates stray hairs and brings the portraits to life.

Also on the right side is the soap mold I made from a cast of my own hand. It has shriveled more than the previous post showed but I feel this adds to the creepy hair display. I have wrapped a pair of tights that have been stuffed with hair around the hand which ties it together with the sculpture and allows the clean soap with the ‘dirty’ hair to work together in harmony.

The final piece that shows that interesting side of hair is my screen print. This is an image of hair under the microscope that has been screen printed and sprinkled with hair. This looks very intriguing at first but when you go up closer to it and realise it is hair it can create a disgusted reaction.

img_8568

The left hand side of my display  shows the slightly more disgusting side of hair. It starts with two hair balls slumped on a plinth. After visiting hairdressers to collect their hair in bags, these balls of hair came out the bag looking exactly like this. They appear almost-human like as they relaxed once they were released from their bags. Its as if they are a human torso that has just finished a large meal and has unbuttoned their trousers. Their edges are quite smooth and the hair itself is very clean but they do have a creepy and unhygienic look about them.

img_8572

Alongside this I have displayed my ‘Free the Leg Hair’ poster that is also plastered around my University in a campaign fashion. This print looks like it could be an advertisement for shoes or even women’s razors but on closer inspection you can see the ugly truth, the legs are covered in hair. ‘Free the Leg Hair’ is printed on the image to make clear my reasoning behind the work. The idea is to make my audience feel disgusted by the female hairy legs but to then question their disgust as it is fine for men to have hairy legs so why not woman.

My creepy hairy sculptures were inspired by feminist art and derived from my images of hairy legs. I stuffed tights with hair and created a male and female sculpture by using hair and the tension of soap to create the male and female genitals. The legs hang lose to again emphasise the unfair idea that woman having hairy legs is disgusting and unattractive but men having hairy legs is completely normal. I wanted my sculptures to represent the human body through shapes and textures but to also be monstrous and creepy.

My hairy banner hangs over my work as a celebration of hair and its amazing qualities. I hope my audience feel both disgusted and amazed by my work and they finally begin to question why they are disgusted by hair when its unattached from our bodies, or when it is attached to female legs.

And there we have it, 3rd Year Semester 2 is done and dusted. I have really enjoyed 3rd year and have tried and tested a lot of different techniques which I hope will help me in my final year. When I’m back I will be working on my degree show and on the road to finishing my degree which is a very scary thought. So watch this space and stay tuned for more crazy work to come.

Leave a Reply

