Etching Tutorial

Over the past two days we have been learning how to etch for the Print and Printability module. As it was just for practice I drew a little doodle (please don’t judge it was done in 2 minutes) on a zinc plate I had previously prepared. I covered the plate in hard ground and placed it into the acid.

IMG_6418IMG_6420

After 30 seconds in the acid I ‘stopped out’ the lines i wanted to keep light.

IMG_6419

I then put my plate back into the acid for another 6 minutes, cleaned off the stop out and hard ground and printed my plate with black etching acrylic (again not my best work – kind of Ian Mckeever inspired but all in the name of learning).

IMG_6421 IMG_6422 IMG_6423

As my main theme for the Print and Printability project is texture I decided to put some texture onto my plate. I put soft ground onto the zinc plate and ran it through the press with a bin bag on top to create an irregular texture.

IMG_6424

Before putting the plate back into the acid i stopped out areas that i didn’t want to have texture. This was my chance to get my Ken Currie on and keep areas very white in comparison to the dark texture.

IMG_6425IMG_6426

IMG_6428

The print came out quite dark, probably because I left it in the acid too long to get the texture. To fix this I scraped back into the plate to make some areas lighter.

IMG_6429 IMG_6430

This was just experimental work and I can’t wait to get into etching properly once I have a clear idea of what I want to do, but it excites me how well texture can be brought into this medium. I’m sure I will be spending a lot more time with etching this semester.

IMG_6431

Leave a Reply

