Inspiration for Printmaking

When looking for inspiration I head to the uni library. In this case I am working in the print studio so I took out a pile of books on print, contemporary and historical. I make a note of what work jumps out at me and what it is about these pieces that I like so much. When I took a step back to view the works I had picked out I realised they all had similarities. Many of the works are layered with combinations of drawings, photography and different methods of printmaking. This has given the works a very textured look which I admire.

The Journey Back III, Alexandr Yastrebenetski

The Journey Back III, Alexandr Yastrebenetski

The Last Romantic, Boris Belski

The Journey Back 1a, Alexandr Yastrebenetski

Beautiful layering of images with different transparency and parts of the image removed producing a lovely texture.

Steady Drizzle

Steady Drizzle, Willie Rodger

A woodcut with a grainy textured effect juxtapositioned by the block silhouettes.

The Last Romantic, Boris Belski

The Last Romantic, Boris Belski

Lovely, textured layered effect including line drawings much like prints i have previously produced.

Ski Jacket, Peter Doig

Ski Jacket, Peter Doig

An etching that uses the fuzzy shapes of humans and creates a kind of forest effect.

Langlands & Bell

Langlands & Bell

A beautiful embossing, its the simplicity I love about this piece, cream on cream, creates a very soft texture.

Bullfight No.3, Salvador Dali

Bullfight No.3, Salvador Dali

A classic lithograph which combines line drawings with block images to create a kinetic piece.

Cavalier Sur Fond Noir Etoile, Marino Marini

Cavalier Sur Fond Noir Etoile, Marino Marini

Another 20th century lithograph that combines block colours with a more textured, chalky effect. I like the use of geometric shapes in this piece.

I can’t wait to get into the print studio this week and to start making my own pieces! There will be a lot of trial and error until I find the style I like but I’ve got the whole semester to get it right!

Leave a Reply

