Final Piece Part 2

So here is it, months of tights stuffing and allergy attacks have finally lead me here. To my life-sized, Tight-zilla, intestine monster.

IMG_4798 IMG_4792

How I displayed my sculpture actually came from the action of hanging it. I may have had an idea in my head of how i wanted it to look but the end result was different, and actually better than i had imagined. I like how the sculpture stands in the stature of a person, after all, the sculpture itself does have human-like qualities with its shapes and texture.

The addition of fishnet tights subtly suggest gender and erotica in a disgusting, sexless way. I consciously arranged the tights to give the suggestion of boobs. I also arranged a leg of tights that stood erect due to having a selfie-stick inside it to act as a penis. My audience can therefore apply their own thoughts of gender to this piece.

breasts

Breasts

penis

Penis

The main idea behind this sculpture is the theory of inside vs outside, vanity vs health. Tights are used as filters for our legs and act as our skin in the piece. The stuffing acts as our insides, the fat and intestines and everything that we don’t see. My main question is, would we care about what we put inside our bodies if it didn’t show on the outside? I have forced the viewer to see whats underneath. I feel like it was important for the sculpture to be life sized to again suggest human-qualities, in an alien way.

My sculpture is the same size as me!

My sculpture is the same size as me!

I am lucky that i was able to display my sculpture in an open space that many students walk past. I want this piece to be tactile and inviting for its audience. I have seen many students being drawn to my sculpture and really wanting to feel it which I encourage. I have made signs that are displayed beside my work to show that the touching of my sculpture is allowed.

Please touch

Please touch sign

I have secretly filled my tights with hard objects such as stones, pens and a selfie-stick to give my audience a shock when they feel this sculpture. This again relates to the idea that we may not know whats going on inside our bodies as often, it doesn’t show on the outside.

Hidden stones in my tights

Hidden stones in my tights

Hidden selfie-stick

Hidden selfie-stick

So that is it. With the deadline on Monday I am finally finished with second year. It would be great to carry on this project throughout my next two years at university. Who knows, i could one day be able to make a tights sculpture the size of a house. Here’s hoping!

IMG_4802 (1)

Leave a Reply

