Laying my Tights to Rest

As if things couldn’t get any stranger on the tights front, today I buried my tights. As I have been captivated by the human condition this semester and my tights are very reminiscent of the human body, I wanted to give them a human experience. I gave my tights the pleasure of being buried in a grave.

IMG_4442 IMG_4429

Laying my tights to rest was fun but disturbing. Working with my sculpture I have realised it has living qualities. It grows, it changes shape, it lives, it dies. Maybe I have become quite attached to my sculpture, but i was almost saddened as I covered the tights with that last bit of soil. So much so that I reversed the action. I pulled parts of the tights back up from the ground in a true Freddy Krueger fashion. This might show my denial of my tights death, or perhaps my tights are not human at all but some sort of invincible alien, i wouldn’t be surprised.

IMG_4434 IMG_4438 IMG_4450 IMG_4451 IMG_4454 IMG_4457 IMG_4458 IMG_4460 IMG_4462 IMG_4466 IMG_4470

I then decided to take more pictures of my buried tights at night to give a more creepy and disturbing atmosphere. Graveyards are showed in the media as scary places and death is often seen as a disturbing act even though it is as natural as breathing. My sculpture provokes feelings of disgust with its unfamiliar yet human-like qualities and I aim to make my photographs the same. The photographs are like my prints, its not obvious what they are but the audience can feel the disturbed emotions and know there is something human about the works.

  

I am going to photoshop the most powerful images to make them stronger and more aesthetically pleasing. I will display the photographs alongside my prints and my sculpture for my final assessment.

Leave a Reply

