A Trip to Paris

So I was a very spoiled girl this Valentine’s Day and was whisked away to the city of love and most of all the capital of art. There were incredibly mastered buildings everywhere, not just the iconic landmarks such as the Notre Dame, Arc de Triomph, and the Eiffel Tower. Every time I stopped to really look I was in awe of the blocks of flats, the shops, the restaurants which too had a spectacular authentic quality not even intended for tourists to gawk at. There was beauty around every corner and for an art student, I was in my element. My poor boyfriend was dragged around art galleries and artist quarters but surprisingly enjoyed it himself.

IMG_3183IMG_3182 IMG_3229IMG_3224

IMG_3521

IMG_3559IMG_3560

Everyone told me, “You have to go to the Louvre!” and I wasn’t disappointed. Not even the ridiculously long queue stopped us from entering this famous museum of art. The modern pyramid is placed in the middle of old beautifully crafted buildings contrasting in a very interesting way.

IMG_3655

Seeing the Mona Lisa was incredible. We have all seen pictures of Leonardo Da Vincis iconic painting but seeing it in person was nothing short of incredible. A piece so successful that people come from around the world to view its wonder from behind a glass case and fence. I also enjoyed seeing the Michelangelo sculpture ‘Dying Slave’ and the ‘Aphrodite of Melos’, just being in the same building as artwork created by artists who were at the top of their fields was so thrilling for my creative mind.

IMG_3674IMG_3767IMG_3754

There is so much art and inspiration in Paris you could choose any street in the city and find some kind of self expression.I enjoyed finding artwork in places where we weren’t even looking for it. On our first day while walking to Notre Dame we unknowingly stumbled into an outdoor museum. This was the Musee De Sculpture De Plein Air and was my first experience of artwork in the city.Having a strong interest in sculpture myself I absolutely loved looking at the marble and stone work situated along the river Seine.

IMG_3142 IMG_3145 IMG_3146

We also came across an art and design exhibition at Paris City Hall showcasing the work of 70 contemporary artists and designers based in the Paris and Berlin. There was a great variety of works ranging from contemporary furniture to light installations and a selection of unique fashion pieces. After seeing all the old buildings and art history museums it was great to see some contemporary work.

IMG_3474 IMG_3477 IMG_3479 IMG_3481

My Gran who is a big art fanatic told me I had to go and see the artists quarter in Montmartre and I’m glad she did. There was a little square surrounded by authentic shops and restaurants and in the middle there were lots of artists actively drawing caricatures for tourists and selling their landmark paintings. It was great to see an art culture constantly so alive. In the same area there was also a chocolate shop and inside there were sculptures of Notre Dame, the Eiffel Tower and Aphrodite of Melos made entirely out of chocolate. Art and chocolate mixed together was just heaven for me!

IMG_3804 IMG_3805 IMG_3808 IMG_3828 IMG_3831

Living in Dundee all my life, although the city’s culture is on the up and is now the first Unesco City of Design in Europe, not everyone is very excited about art. It was so refreshing to be in a city with art around every corner and so much passion and enthusiasm to create and express yourself. This city is full of inspiration and I am very glad and lucky I had the chance to visit here while i am still studying fine art. I would advise everyone if they can to visit this amazing city they will not be disappointed.

Leave a comment