Children using technology

As I have been progressing with this sculpture project I have been looking into how much children depend on technology. Barbies and fire trucks have been replaced by mobile phones and video games. Children are using their imaginations less and letting a screen entertain them in stead. I did have a mobile phone when I was young but this only to phone my family in emergencies. Now children have smart phones and have the whole world at their fingertips.

I have been concentrating on simple toys that were greatly appreciated when they first came out. The beaded maze that is often seen in waiting rooms for children to play with is a great example of a forgotten gem from when toys were a lot simpler. I have also been looking at the mobile phone that I had when I was young and how much different it is to the mobile phones that children have today. Both the beaded maze and the old mobile phones were amazing inventions when they first came out and were treasured greatly. However with technology enhancing everyday these inventions no longer impress anyone, not even a child.

I recently went to the Early Learning Centre to look at what type of toys are popular with children today. I was shocked to see how technically enhanced they are. I came across toys that have been made to look like iPhones and iPads for 1 year olds! I found this shocking that we are encouraging children from such a young age to be obsessed with their mobile phones. I guess that is just the age we live in now!

IMG_1019.JPG

IMG_1020-1.JPG

Leave a Reply

